Legendary Surfers

Subscribe to our mailing list

Powered by Robly

Subscribe to our feeds:

Subscribe to the Surfing Heritage Main Exhibits RSS Feed SHACC

Subscribe to the Legendary Surfers RSS Feed Legendary Surfers

Follow SHACC on:

Follow us on Twitter




2008 ASP Masters in Brazil

[ Excerpt of an ASP press release: "Brazil to Host Historic Assemblage of Talent for 2008 ASP World Masters," EXPN.go.com, May 7, 2008 ]

For the first time in five years, the ASP World Masters Championships will assemble some of the most legendary names in professional surfing to Rio de Janeiro's Barra de Tijuca from June 30 through July 6, 2008 to crown the 2008 ASP World Masters and ASP World Grand Masters Champions.

The Rio Masters will feature two divisions in the ASP Masters (surfers aged over 35) and the ASP Grand Masters (surfers aged over 47). The top 14 in each division are invited directly off of ASP career ratings (points being accrued by winning ASP World Titles, Top 5 World rankings, Top 10 World rankings and time spent on the ASP World Tour)...

Confirmed athletes to this season's Rio Masters include former ASP World Champions Mark Occhilupo (AUS), Shaun Tomson (ZAF), Peter Townend (AUS), Rabbit Bartholomew (AUS), Tom Curren (USA), Damien Hardmen (AUS), Martin Potter (ZAF) and Derek Ho (HAW) as well as former ASP World Masters Champions Gary Elkerton (AUS), Michael Ho (HAW), Cheyne Horan (AUS) and Terry Richardson (AUS). Other confirmed athletes include Brad Gerlach (USA), Rob Bain (AUS), Dave Macaulay (AUS), Hans Hedemann (HAW), Buzzy Kerbox (HAW), Simon Anderson (AUS) and Ian Cairns (AUS)...

"Wonderful to have the Masters back on again," [Shaun] Tomson said. "I'll be there with bells on and definitely looking forward to seeing the guys again and having a great event in Rio."

The 2008 Rio Masters will be the first of a three-year license for Brazil, and this year's event will stand alone in terms of Masters events, crowning both the ASP World Masters Champion and ASP World Grand Masters Champion...

( Barra de Tijuca image courtesy of Oglobo.globo.com )

ASP World Masters Championships Past Champions: Aged 35 and over:

2003: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
2001: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
2000: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1999: Cheyne Horan (AUS)
1998: Joey Buran (USA)
1997: Terry Richardson (AUS)

ASP World Grand Masters Championships Past Champions: Aged 47 and over:

2003: Rabbit Bartholomew (AUS)
2001: Mark Richards (AUS)
2000: Michael Ho (HAW)
1999: Rabbit Bartholomew (AUS)
1998: Buzzy Kerbox (HAW)

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

Mahalo for your comment!

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home