1966 Duke Invitational

The first Duke Kahanamoku Invitational Surfing Championship was held on Easter Sunday in 1966. It was named in honor of the "Father of Modern Surfing", Duke Paoa Kahinu Mokoe Hulikohola Kahanamoku. The contest was by invitation only, and featured only 24 of the world's best surfers, a first for modern surf contests. It was broadcast on CBS as a sports spectacular with an estimated 40 to 50 million viewers...

Labels: , ,


Blogger Randy Rarick said...

Just some corrective dates. The first Duke Invitational was held in December of 1965 and won by Jeff Hakman. The second Duke meet was scheduled for December of 1966 but actually didn't get run until February of 1967 and was won by Ricky Grigg. The third Duke meet was run in 1967 as well, but not until December and won by Jock Sutherland.
Hope these date clarifications help.
Randy Rarick

October 11, 2007  

Post a Comment

Mahalo for your comment!

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home