LEGENDARY SURFERS

LS Chapters Added First Half of 2022

In the first half of 2022, LEGENDARY SURFERS chapters that were added include:

Labels: , , , ,

LS Chapters Added Later in 2021

In the latter half of 2021, LEGENDARY SURFERS chapters that were added, edited or offered free include:

 

The Ka'iulani Board: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/07/the-kaiulani-board.html


E.J. Oshier: Between The Cove and 'Nofre: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/09/ej-oshier-between-cove-and-nofre.html

 

Tommy Zahn (1924-1991): https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/11/tommy-zahn-1924-1991.html

 

 

 

Labels: , ,

LS Chapters Added First Half 2021

In the first half of 2021, LEGENDARY SURFERS chapters that were added, edited or offered free include:


Dora: http://www.legendarysurfers.com/2014/12/dora.html


Da Bull: Greg Noll: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/01/da-bull-greg-noll.html


Surfing Year 1962: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/02/surfing-year-1962.html


Ricky Grigg (1937-2014): https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/03/ricky-grigg-1937-2014.html


Surfing Year 1963: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/04/surfing-year-1963.html


Dewey Weber (1938-1993): https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2021/05/dewey-weber-1938-1993.html




LS Chapters Added Later in 2020

In the last half of 2020, LEGENDARY SURFERS chapters that were added, edited or offered free include:


Surfing Year 1956: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/05/surfing-year-1956.html

Dorian "Doc" Paskowitz (1921-2014): https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/06/dorian-doc-paskowitz-1921-2014.html

Surfing Year 1958: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/07/surfing-year-1958.html

From Wood to Foam: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/07/from-wood-to-foam.html

The Malibu Board: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/08/the-malibu-board.html

Surfing Year 1959: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/08/surfing-year-1959.html

Phil Edwards: The Early Years: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/09/phil-edwards-early-years.html

Surfing Decade: The 1910's: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/09/surfing-decade-1910s.html

Surfing Year 1960: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/10/surfing-year-1960.html

Surfing Decade: The 1920's: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/10/surfing-decade-1920s.html

Gene "Tarzan" Smith (1911-1986): http://www.legendarysurfers.com/2014/12/tarzan.html

Surfing Year 1961: https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/12/surfing-year-1961.html


The Malibu Board

Now, completely free in ebook format for reading and/or downloading:

http://www.legendarysurfers.com/2014/12/the-malibu-board.html

Chapters Added in Early 2020

In the first half of 2020, LEGENDARY SURFERS chapters added -- both new, edited and freed from behind a pay wall -- include:

Bud Browne (1912-2008)https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/01/bud-browne-1912-2008.html

Surfing Year 1955https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/02/surfing-year-1955.html

Malibu: Tomol to Tubesteakhttps://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/04/malibu-tomol-to-tubesteak.html

Surfing Year 1956https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2020/05/surfing-year-1956.html

Surfing's Revival (1900-1915)https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2019/10/surfings-revival-1900-1915.html

Traditional Hawaiian Surf Culturehttps://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2018/05/traditional-hawaiian-surf-culture.html

Traditional Hawaiian Surfboardshttps://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2018/05/traditional-hawaiian-surfboards.html







Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Buzzy Trent (1929-2006)


Aloha and welcome to this chapter of Legendary Surfers (Volume 5, Chapter 11) on legendary surfer Buzzy Trent.



Buzzy Trent; photo by Leroy Grannis 


Contents


WW II Malibu & Post Era Surfing with Simmons
To & Fro the Beach
Tijuana Sloughs, Christmas Time, December 1949
Sunset Cliffs, January 1951
Before The Call of The Islands
Makaha, 1952
Makaha, 1953
Bob Simmons on The North Shore
The Photo Seen ‘Round The World
Talk Story
Makaha & The North Shore, 1954
Quonset Hut Life
Greg Noll & The Hermosa Guys, 1954
Phil Edwards on The North Shore, 1955
All Out Attack on The North Shore, 1955
Laniakea, November 1955
Outside Reefs
Coast Haoles Takeover The North Shore
Waimea Broke Open, November 1957
Later Years



“You don’t go hunting elephant with a BB gun. If you’re going to hunt big waves, take a big gun.” 1

“Life’s a supermarket, Kurnz. Put anything you want in the shopping cart, but you have to deal with the checker on the way out the door.” 2

Labels: , ,

Surfing Year 1954

Aloha and welcome to the LEGENDARY SURFERS chapter on surfing as it was in 1954.

Disclaimer: I've tried my best to pin-point surfing events and stories that took place in 1954, but realize there may be some inconsistencies in the chronology.

Rick, Mike, Sonny and Bing. Photo by Velzy.

Contents

George Downing
Phil Edwards
Mike Doyle
Makaha
Miki and Mickey
The Death of Simmons
Greg Noll Hits the North Shore
Makaha Quonset Huts
Haole in Waipahu High
Pau Malu = Sunset Beach
Henry “Hanalei” Preece
The Hike Around Kaena Point
Makaha International Surfing Championships
Last Days of the Hot Curl


To read the chapter on 1954, please go here:

 https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2019/11/surfing-year-1954.html

Labels:

Surfing's Revival (1900-1915)

Welcome!

Long part of Volume 1 of LEGENDARY SURFERS, Surfing's Revival is back in the collection as a free, stand-alone chapter in PDF format. To read or download, please go to:

https://legendary-surfers.blogspot.com/2019/10/surfings-revival-1900-1915.html


Labels: , , , ,

Dale Velzy (1927-2005)

Aloha and Welcome to this LEGENDARY SURFERS chapter on legendary surfer and shaper Dale Velzy.

After several years lapse, this chapter -- written in 2004, just before Velzy's passing -- is once again posted for public viewing, reading and downloading.

Aloha,

Malcolm Gault-Williams
September 2019


Labels: , ,